Most Administrators may be familiar with the processes of adding and disabling users in Marketscape CRM. However, one of the trickier processes is transferring accounts and contacts from a user who is being disabled to a new user when both users aren't active in the system at the same time. This happens most often when a company account is at its user license limit and needs to transition users, and transferring ownership from an already disabled user isn't a viable option. This article describes the additional steps that can be taken to make transferring accounts and contacts to a new user from a user that is being disabled possible, without the need to increase user licenses.
How to make the transition
This process requires using three user accounts:
- The user account to be disabled - the first account
- A new user account - the second account
- A third user account - this can be any account.
Temporarily Disable an Active User
The first step is to disable a third user temporarily, without changing any account or contact assignment and retaining all calendar events. This is done to provide an open user license so you can create the new user account. This third user will be reactivated again once the new account is activated. While disabled, this user will not have access to their Marketscape CRM account. This entire process should only take about 10-15 minutes to complete (generally much less), so it should have minimal impact on the active user. Since account, contact and calendar information is not changed as part of this process, the user will retain the original information once reactivated.
Add a New User
Once the third user has been disabled temporarily (as described above), a license should be available to create a new user account.
Disable the Intended User, Transferring Accounts and Contacts
Once the new user has been created, the user account that needs to be disabled can be disabled. During the disabling process, accounts and contacts can be transitioned to the new user you just created. It is also suggested that the future calendar events be deleted, as they will not transition to the new user.
Activate the Temporarily Disabled User
Once the first user account has been disabled, a user license will become available. This allows for the third user to be reactivated, restoring their access to their Marketscape CRM account.